Jack of Fables: The End (2011)


What kinds of heroes would we be if we retired having never slain an actual dragon?


And so we come to the final collection of the Jack of Fables comics. This is volume 9 and it collects issues 46 – 50. It was again written by Bill Willingham and Matthew Sturges. The art was mainly by Tony Akins and Andrew Pepoy but also with contributions by Dan Green, Russ Braun and Bill Reinhold.

Set an unspecified number of years in the future, this book sees Jack Frost about to retire after years of adventuring and heroic deeds. But just as he is about to call it a day he is hired to slay a fearsome dragon and agrees as it is something he has never done before. However, he finds that he is not the only one to have an interest in this particular dragon.

First of all the best thing about this book is the return of those hot librarians the Page sisters – Priscilla, Robin and Hillary – who are on their own quest to reassemble the Great Library and restore their Literal powers. It is good to see those characters again – possibly for the last time(?). However the book spends too much time reuniting us with characters from Jack’s past for no great reason other than to be cannon fodder in the climax of the book. A disappointing end to what was a good series with no sign of the wicked humour upon which it made its name.

Bill and Matt have more or less stated that they had run of ideas and there was very little room for pushing the boundaries of the character once it had been revealed that he had slept with his sisters. But to take 15 issues to wrap it up in such a way as they have seems like extreme overindulgence to me. I would have much rather his story had come to an end in the crossover storyline. Sadly, this book will not be missed by me – and I never thought I would have said that when it was at its height.

Jack of Fables: The Fulminate Blade (2011)


I fully intend to kill that giant and ensure that no more virgins are sacrificed!


This is volume 8 of the Jack of Fables paperbacks and it collects issues 41 – 45. It was again written by Bill Willingham and Matthew Sturges. The art was by various combinations of Tony Akins, Jim Fern, Andrew Pepoy and Joe Rubinstein.

With Jack Hornet’s transformation complete at the end of the last book, the stage is set for his altruistic and naive son Jack Frost to take centre stage. In this book, Jack sets out to slay the giant that is demanding an annual tribute from the world of Landfall. He soon finds that all is not what it seems and almost everyone he meets has been using him for their own ends.

Although the book consists of a perfectly good story set in the Fables homelands, the adventures of Jack Frost are not nearly as exciting, or funny, as those of his father – or at least they are in a more conventional sense. So reading this book I found myself missing the antics of the Jack of old – despite the extreme depths that he sunk to in The Great Fables Crossover. With the next book collecting the last of the series, I am not sure if this is an attempt at a reboot that failed or if this is part of the planned route to the end of the series – to be honest it feels like the latter when taken with volume 7.

Jack of Fables: The New Adventures of Jack and Jack (2010)


“Get your paws off me, you damned dirty ape!”

“There’s no need to be rude. It isn’t as if hot baths are easy to come by in the jungle.”


This is volume 7 of the Jack of Fables paperbacks and it collects issues 36-40. It was again written by Bill Willingham and Matthew Sturges with a one-off story written by Chris Roberson. The art was by various combinations of Tony Akins, Russ Braun, Andrew Pepoy and Jose Marzan, Jr.

The first story is a filler from Chris Roberson called Jack ‘n’ Apes which is a tale from Jack’s past when he was on the run (again) and pitched up in the jungle of West Africa and ran into a colony of Fable apes. The remaining four installments by the regular writing team pick up the story from the end of The Great Fables Crossover. In it Jack (along with sidekick Gary) head off on the road again without a care in the world looking for the next opportunity to make money but along the way they discover that the choices that Jack has made in the past have consequences that only now make themselves apparent. This volume has two plot lines and the second follows Jack’s son, with the Snow Queen, Jack Frost as he sets out on the road to adventure and being a hero across the Fables Homelands. However he doesn’t find it easy as first real quest – to save a town from rampaging monsters – is further complicated when he has to complete a quest for the monsters in exchange for the release of the townsfolk.

Although only a filler story after the major crossover event, Roberson’s story was everything I love about a Jack of Fables story. It was funny and had Jack furiously trying to work an angle at every opportunity – switching allegiances every couple of pages. The riff on the Tarzan legend was great especially his relationship with Jane.

The main story looks like a change of direction, for now at least, with Jack’s son taking a more prominent role and showing his father how a true hero acts – although Jack, of course, already believes he is the first and greatest hero of them all. Jack is sidelined as, Dorian Gray style, his past actions literally transform him. I will need to see how this change of direction plays out but it could be interesting with Jack Frost travelling between the worlds of the Homelands looking for adventure opens up the book to perhaps more varied and interesting story ideas. My only worry is that it may become too like the main book if they persist with the formula for too long.

Jack of Fables: The Big Book of War (2009)

This is volume 6 of the spin-off series from Fables collecting issues 28 – 32. It was written by Fables writer Bill Willingham and Matthew Sturges writer of the excellent House of Mystery – also for Vertigo. Art duties were shared amongst Tony Akins, Ross Braun, Jose Marzan Jr. and Dan Green.

For those that don’t know Jack of the Tales is a self-centred character whose massive ego meant that he was forced out of the main Fables comic into his own title where he could pursue his main interests of making lots of money and sleeping with hot women. This book continues a long running story line with the librarians and residents of the Golden Boughs Retirement Community. Jack has led the Bookburner to the Golden Boughs where he lays siege and attacks it with the aim of wiping out all fables within it.

As the book is a continuation of a long story line, that continues into the next volume of Fables, it is not really a suitable jumping on point for new readers – but you really, really should be reading both Fables and Jack of Fables anyway. It is fairly standard fare as Jack, more by luck and the efforts of his companions, takes control of the resistance effort and fights off the Bookburner’s forces – not really a spoiler since this is Jack of the Tales and he always comes out on top in most situations. This book is packed with the usual Jack of Fables humour as an increasingly delusional Jack, both in his own abilities and his perception as himself of being irresistible to any available women, stumbles from one taco to another as chaos reigns around him. Excellent stuff and I really can’t get enough of it.